Country Specific Information: Comoros

May 29, 2011

Country Specific Information: Comoros
Source: U.S. Department of State

May 24, 2011

COUNTRY DESCRIPTION: The Union of the Comoros is a developing nation located in the Indian Ocean off the east coast of Africa. Comoros consists of three islands, Ngazidja (also known as Grand Comore), Moheli, and Anjouan, that are spread across an area of about 900 square miles. Ngazidja is home to the capital city, Moroni, and is the most developed of the three islands. Facilities for tourism are limited and telecommunication links are unreliable. French, Arabic, Swahili, and Comoran are spoken. A fourth island, Mayotte, officially changed status from a French “collectivity” to an actual French Department in March 2011. The U.S. Embassy in Antananarivo, Madagascar handles consular issues arising in both Comoros and Mayotte. Read the Department of State Background Notes on the Union of Comoros for additional information.

%d bloggers like this: